Microblading: What to Expect

Microblading: A form of semi-permanent makeup that has taken the beauty industry by storm with it’s natural appeal and outstanding results.

For those who are yet to hear about microblading, it is a treatment that simulates the appearance of hair to partially or fully camouflage missing eyebrow hair by using fine deposits of cosmetic pigments.

For years I have struggled with my crazy brows that just do their own thing and demand serious attention in the mornings! However, after serious research into the art of microblading I still felt a little uneasy about the whole thing, until I spoke to a friend (with impeccable brows) who had hers done and recommended me to the incredible Brow & Co in Torquay, Devon.

It seemed that all I needed was a gentle push and personal recommendation for me to take the plunge and book a consultation. Having thoroughly researched and looked through countless photos of Phibrow Artist, Lori Callow’s work I felt extremely at ease.

At the consultation Lori talked me through the process and did a patch test to make sure that I wasn’t allergic to any of the products that she would be using, a few weeks later and it was time to transform my brows!

The microblading treatment is split into a two step process. The first session takes around three hours and it is in this appointment that your brow technician will talk you through everything, design the perfect shape brows for your face and ensure that you are happy before they get to work. The second part is 4-8 weeks later and takes around about an hour to go over the brows and fill in any gaps that the pigment didn’t take to.

Is it Painful?

Everyone has different pain thresholds, however for someone who has zero tattoos and only my ears pierced it’s safe to say that I’m not exactly used to the sensation of painful procedures! Nonetheless, I found that it was completely bearable, the sensation is more of a scratching feel than that of a tattoo gun due to the fact that microblading is performed with a hand tool with you guessed it, a small blade on the end.

After creating the base of the strokes and getting the main outline of my brows, Lori applied numbing cream, which I would definitely recommend as after that I couldn’t feel a thing!

On a scale of 1-10 (10 being excruciating) on how painful I would rate microblading, I’d give it a 3 before the numbing cream and after the numbing cream a 0. Of course this will be different for everyone.

I was absolutely amazed when I looked in the mirror after my treatment, not only had Lori filled in the gaps in the tails of my brows but she had completely reshaped them to complement my bone structure and shape my face, making them fuller and more defined.

Before and After My First Treatment:

The Healing Process

The healing process is an interesting time to say the least! For some the flaking and scabbing of their brows is little to none but for others (aka me) I had a lot of flaking which was pretty heartbreaking as in the flakes you could actually see the microbladed hair stroke! However, this is why microblading is a two part process! Your skin will flake as there has been a lot of work done to the area so it needs to heal and that unfortunately is in the form of scabbing and flaking. Between days 1-3 my brows were looking fab and extra fleeky, but come day 4-10 my brows were shedding!

Screen Shot 2017-12-18 at 21.17.16

Seeing this on Brow & Co’s Instagram was literally the biggest life saver as I knew that I was going through the process as expected and experienced by most!

The Top Up

The top up comes 4-8 weeks later and by this time, you’ll have noticed the areas where the pigment hasn’t stuck and there may be some gaps. However after the top up your brows are back and looking so much more defined and fuller!

After My Top Up:

I honestly could not recommend microblading enough, you achieve perfect brows without the daunting thought of it being permanent – meaning that all it takes is a 6 month to yearly top up to keep them looking fresh and no risk of the colour fading like tattoos can have the tendency of doing.

On top of that, if you are considering microblading and unsure of where to go, I urge you to check out Brow & Co’s Instagram page. Both Lori and Jourdan are absolute experts and can guarantee the perfect brows for everyone no matter what skin type, age or eyebrow situation!

I’m so glad I went to Lori to get my brows microbladed. She is outstanding at what she does and ensures she really takes time and pride in her work with each and everyone of her clients.

X

Leave a comment